Texray AB | Gothenburg, Sweden | November 10, 2023 |

Texray is proud to announce that our Co-Founder and CEO Petra Apell yesterday received The Arvid Carlsson Award, for her innovation and entrepreneurship, presented by the Sahlgrenska Science Park at Park Annual in Gothenburg, Sweden.

The award is a prestigious recognition named after the renowned Swedish neuroscientist, Arvid Carlsson. Carlsson received the Nobel Prize in Physiology for Medicine in 2000 for his groundbreaking research on neurotransmitters and their role in the nervous system.

Motivation by the Jury:
An outstanding innovation protecting medical practitioners from harmful radiation while saving the lives of others. 

“For medical practitioners, X-ray guided interventions means exposure to radiation in the operating room. The winner of the Arvid Carlsson Award 2023 has developed a first-of-its-kind radiation protection textile, addressing the need of a comfortable, lightweight, and safe equipment, protecting the user from harmful radiation while saving the lives of others. 

At the forefront of Texray’s successful expansion into the global market, we find an inspirational entrepreneur with a relentless drive and an unwavering commitment to continuous growth, research, and development.”

“I’m deeply grateful for the honor of receiving this award. This recognition is a testament to the dedication and collaboration that have gone into this cutting-edge technology that disrupts the radiation protection market. I want to express my heartfelt thanks to everyone who has voted for me, my co-founding business partner Fredrik Gellerstedt, our dedicated colleagues, mentors, everyone who has been a part of this journey and of course, the award committee. It’s a reminder of our commitment to improving the work environment for healthcare professionals with our patented textile,” says Petra Apell.

The award honors those who contribute significantly to life sciences and healthcare, continuing Arvid Carlsson’s legacy in advancing brain research and treating neurological disorders. Recipients are recognized for their outstanding research, innovations, and progress in neurology and healthcare, fostering further development in these fields. She continues;

”This award inspires me to continue pushing the boundaries of what is possible and improving the work environment for millions of healthcare professionals. Thank you for this incredible honor; I’m excited to carry this recognition forward”

Photo credit: Sahlgrenska Science Park